Careers & Advancement

Outstanding Early-Career Investigator Award

 Materials Research Society Foundation LogoThe Outstanding Early-Career Investigator Award recognizes outstanding, interdisciplinary scientific work in materials research by a young scientist or engineer. The award recipient must show exceptional promise as a developing leader in the materials area.


Nominations are accepted July 1–August 1.

Award Package

The annual award consists of a $5,000 cash prize, a presentation trophy and a certificate. Meeting registration fee and reasonable travel expenses to attend the Materials Research Society meeting at which the award is presented will be reimbursed.

Nomination Information

Nominations for the Outstanding Early-Career Investigator Award will be accepted through August 1. Rules and eligibility, nomination package requirements and more are available here.


Outstanding Early-Career Investigator Award Recipients

  • Jonathan Rivnay, Northwestern University (2020)
  • Sheng Xu, University of California, San Diego (2019)
  • William Chueh, Stanford University (2018)
  • Vanessa Wood, ETH Zürich (2018)
  • Jennifer A. Dionne, Stanford University (2017)
  • James M. Rondinelli, Northwestern University (2017)
  • Dino Di Carlo, University of California, Los Angeles (2016)
  • Timothy J. White, Air Force Research Laboratory (2016)
  • Karena W. Chapman, Argonne National Laboratory (2015)
  • Ali Javey, University of California, Berkeley (2015)
  • Henry J. Snaith, Oxford University (2014)
  • Alexandra Boltasseva, Purdue University (2013)
  • Markus J. Buehler, Massachusetts Institute of Technology (2012)
  • Dmitri V. Talapin, University of Chicago (2011)
  • Mark C. Hersam, Northwestern University (2010)
  • Teri Odom, Northwestern University (2009)
  • Michael S. Strano, Massachusetts Institute of Technology (2008)
  • Michael D. McGehee, Stanford University (2007)
  • Ju Li, The Ohio State University (2006)
  • Harold Y. Hwang, University of Tokyo (2005)
  • Peidong Yang, University of California, Berkely (2004)
  • Timothy J. Deming, University of California, Santa Barbara (2003)
  • Kristi S. Anseth, University of Colorado (2001)
  • Frances M. Ross, IBM T.J. Watson Research Center (2000)
  • Chad A. Mirkin, Northwestern University (1999)
  • Anne M. Mayes, Massachusetts Institute of Technology (1998)
  • Christopher N. Bowman, University of Colorado (1997)
  • Antonios G. Mikos, Rice University (1996)
  • A. Paul Alivisatos, University of California, Berkeley (1995)
  • David J. Eaglesham, AT&T Bell Laboratories (1994)
  • Charles M. Lieber, Harvard University (1993)
  • David D. Awschalom, University of California, Santa Barbara (1992)
  • Stuart S. P. Parkin, IBM Almaden Research Center (1991)