Careers & Advancement

Publishing Alliance

MRS publishes with Springer Nature


Corporate Partners

Innovation in Materials Characterization Award

 Materials Research Society Foundation Logo

The Innovation in Materials Characterization Award honors an outstanding advance in materials characterization that notably increases the knowledge of the structure, composition, in situ behavior under outside stimulus, electronic, mechanical, or chemical behavior, or other characterization feature, of materials. It is not limited to the method of characterization or the class of material observed. Impact of the advance on materials research will be the primary consideration in making the award. Nominations for this award may be made for scientists and engineers in all areas of materials research.

The deadline for submission was August 1, 2020.

The Award

The annual award consists of a $5,000 cash prize, a presentation trophy and a certificate. The award is presented annually at the MRS Spring Meeting.  Meeting registration fee and transportation and hotel expenses to attend the meeting at which the award is presented will be reimbursed.


The Innovation in Materials Characterization Award has been endowed by Dr. Gwo-Ching Wang and Dr. Toh-Ming Lu.

Nomination Information

Nominations for the Innovation in Materials Characterization Award will be accepted from June 15 through August 1.  Rules and eligibility, nomination package requirements and more are available here.


Innovation in Materials Characterization Award Recipients

  • Jinghua Guo, Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory (2020)
  • Stig Helveg, Haldor Topsoe A/S (2019)
  • David G. Cahill, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign (2018)
  • Joost W.M. Frenken, Advanced Research Center for Nanolithography (2017)
  • Niels de Jonge, INM–Leibniz Institute for New Materials (2016)
  • Frances M. Ross, IBM T.J. Watson Research Center (2016)
  • Chongmin Wang, Pacific Northwest National Laboratory (2016)
  • John M. Carpenter, Argonne National Laboratory (2015)
  • Albert Polman, University of Amsterdam, FOM Institute AMOLF (2014)
  • D. Bruce Chase, University of Delaware (2013)
  • John F. Rabolt, University of Delaware (2013)
  • Stephen J. Pennycook, Oak Ridge National Laboratory (2012)
  • Tye T. Gribb, DTE Research & Design LLC (2011)
  • Thomas F. Kelly, Cameca Instruments (2011)
  • David J. Larson, Cameca Instruments (2011)
  • Warren C. Oliver, Nanomechanics Inc. (2010)
  • George M. Pharr, Oak Ridge National Laboratory (2010)