Careers & Advancement

Von Hippel Award

 Materials Research Society Foundation Logo

The Von Hippel Award, the Materials Research Society's highest honor, recognizes those qualities most prized by materials scientists and engineers—brilliance and originality of intellect, combined with vision that transcends the boundaries of conventional scientific disciplines.

The Von Hippel Award is named after Arthur von Hippel (1898-2003), who was a pioneer in the study of dielectrics, semiconductors, ferromagnetics and ferroelectrics. He was an early advocate of the interdisciplinary approach to materials research, and his example substantially furthered the science of materials. View the Arthur von Hippel Memorial Website »

Submit a Nomination

The nomination site is open through April 1.

Award Package

The Von Hippel Award includes a $10,000 cash prize, honorary membership in MRS, and a unique trophy — a mounted ruby laser crystal symbolizing the many-faceted nature of materials research. The award is presented annually at the MRS Fall Meeting where the recipient is invited to speak at the Awards Ceremony. The recipient will have registration fees and reasonable travel expenses paid in order to attend the meeting.

Nomination Information

Nominations for the Von Hippel Award will be accepted from March 1 through April 1. Rules and eligibility, nomination package requirements and more are available here.


Von Hippel Award Recipients

  • Jerry D. Tersoff, IBM T.J. Watson Research Center (2019)
  • Hideo Hosono, Tokyo Institute of Technology (2018)
  • Sir Richard H. Friend, University of Cambridge (2015)
  • C.N.R. Rao, Jawaharlal Nehru Centre for Advanced Scientific Research (2017)
  • Marvin L. Cohen, University of California, Berkeley (2014)
  • Charles M. Lieber, Harvard University (2016)
  • Mildred Dresselhaus, Massachusetts Institute of Technology (2013)
  • Stuart S.P. Parkin, IBM Almaden Research Center (2012)
  • A. Paul Alivisatos, Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory and University of California, Berkeley (2011)
  • L. Eric Cross, The Pennsylvania State University (2010)
  • Tobin J. Marks, Northwestern University (2009)
  • Herbert Gleiter, Forschungszentrum Karlsruhe (2008)
  • William Nix, Stanford University (2007)
  • Knut Wolf Urban, Forschungszentrum Juelich (2006)
  • Robert S. Langer, Massachusetts Institute of Technology (2005)
  • Nick Holonyak, Jr., University of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign (2004)
  • Julia R. Weertman, Northwestern University (2003)
  • Howard K. Birnbaum, University of Illinois (2002)
  • Simon C. Moss, University of Houston (2001)
  • George M. Whitesides, Harvard University (2000)
  • Richard S. Stein, University of Massachusetts Amherst (1999)
  • Larry L. Hench, Imperial College of Science, Technology and Medicine (1998)
  • Gabor A. Somorjai, University of California, Berkeley (1997)
  • Sir Alan H. Cottrell, University of Cambridge (1996)
  • William W. Mullins, Carnegie Mellon University (1995)
  • Alfred Y. Cho, AT&T Bell Laboratories (1994)
  • Frederick Seitz, The Rockefeller University (1993)
  • Michael F. Ashby, University of Cambridge (1992)
  • Theodore H. Geballe, Stanford University (1991)
  • Robert W. Balluffi, Massachusetts Institute of Technology (1990)
  • John B. Goodenough, The University of Texas at Austin (1989)
  • Jacques Friedel, Université de Paris-Sud (1988)
  • Sir Charles Frank, University of Bristol (1987)
  • Minko Balkanski, Université Pierre et Marie Curie (1986)
  • John W. Cahn, National Bureau of Standards (1985)
  • Walter L. Brown, AT&T Bell Laboratories (1984)
  • Sir Peter B. Hirsch, University of Oxford (1983)
  • Clarence M. Zener, Carnegie Mellon University (1982)
  • James W. Mayer, Cornell University (1981)
  • W. Conyers Herring, Stanford University (1980)
  • David Turnbull, Harvard University (1979)
  • William O. Baker, Bell Laboratories (1978)
  • Arthur von Hippel, Massachusetts Institute of Technology (1976)