Careers & Advancement

MRS Medal

 Materials Research Society Foundation Logo

The MRS Medal recognizes an exceptional achievement in materials research in the past ten years. A medal will be awarded for a major advance or cluster of closely related advances in any materials-related field of research. The impact of this research on the progress of the relevant materials field will be a primary consideration in making the award.

MRS acknowledges the generosity of Dr. Gwo-Ching Wang and Dr. Toh-Ming Lu in endowing the MRS Medal.

Submit a Nomination

The nomination site is open through April 1.

Award Package

Each medal will consist of a $5,000 cash prize, an engraved and mounted medal and a citation certificate. The registration fee will be paid for each medalist to attend the MRS meeting at which the medal talk is presented, and reasonable travel expenses to the MRS meeting will be reimbursed.

Nomination Information

Nominations for the MRS Medal will be accepted through April 1.  Rules and eligibility, nomination package requirements and more are available here.


MRS Medal Recipients

  • Catherine J. Murphy, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign (2019)
  • Haimei Zheng, Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory (2019)
  • John A. Rogers, Northwestern University (2018)
  • Richard B. Kaner, University of California, Los Angeles (2015)
  • Robert J. Cava, Princeton University (2016)
  • Joanna Aizenberg, Harvard University and Younan Xia, Georgia Institute of Technology (2017)
  • Sharon C. Glotzer and Nicholas Kotov, University of Michigan (2014)
  • Mercouri G. Kanatzidis, Northwestern University (2014)
  • Alexander Balandin, University of California, Riverside (2013)
  • Jennifer A. Lewis, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign (2012)
  • Miquel Salmeron, Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory (2012)
  • Peidong Yang, University of California, Berkeley (2011)
  • Zhong Lin (Z.L.) Wang, Georgia Institute of Technology (2011)
  • Walter A. de Heer, Georgia Institute of Technology (2010)
  • Gerbrand Ceder, Massachusetts Institute of Technology (2009)
  • Darrell G. Schlom, Cornell University (2008)
  • James F. Scott, University of Cambridge (2008)
  • Omar Yaghi, University of California, Los Angeles (2007)
  • Pulickel Ajayan Rensselear Polytechnic Institute (2006)
  • Won Bong Choi, Florida International University (2006)
  • Mark Thompson, University of Southern California (2006)
  • Reshef Tenne, Weizmann Institute of Science (2005)
  • Jacob Israelachvili, University of California, Santa Barbara (2004)
  • Toh-Ming Lu, Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute (2004)
  • Sunil Sinha, University of California, San Diego, and Los Alamos National Laboratory (2004)
  • C. Jeffrey Brinker, Sandia National Laboratories and University of New Mexico (2003)
  • Ivan K. Schuller University of California, San Diego (2003)
  • Charles M. Lieber, Harvard University (2002)
  • Uzi Landman, Georgia Institute of Technology (2002)
  • C. Mathew Mate, IBM Almaden Research Center (2001)
  • Norman C. Bartelt Sandia National Laboratories (2001)
  • Dieter M. Gruen, Argonne National Laboratory (2000)
  • Samuel I. Stupp, Northwestern University (2000)
  • M. George Craford Hewlett Packard (1999)
  • Stephen Forrest Princeton University (1999)
  • William L. Johnson California Institute of Technology (1998)
  • Shuji Nakamura, Nichia Chemical Industries Ltd. (1997)
  • Jerry D. Tersoff, IBM T.J. Watson Research Center (1996)
  • Federico Capasso AT&T Bell Laboratories (1995)
  • Rudolf M. Tromp, IBM T.J. Watson Research Center (1995)
  • Max G. Lagally, University of Wisconsin-Madison (1994)
  • Kenneth S. Suslick, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign (1994)
  • Wolfgang Kraätschmer, Max-Planck Institute Kernphysik (1993)
  • Donald R. Huffman, University of Arizona (1993)
  • L. Eric Cross, The Pennsylvania State University (1992)
  • Stephen J. Pennycook, Oak Ridge National Laboratory (1993)
  • Bernard S. Meyerson, IBM T.J. Watson Research Center (1991)
  • Shigeyuki Somiya, Nishi Tokyo University (1991)
  • Arthur J. Freeman, Northwestern University (1990)
  • Duward F. Shriver, Northwestern University (1990)