Careers & Advancement

Publishing Alliance

MRS publishes with Springer Nature


Corporate Partners

David Turnbull Lectureship

 Materials Research Society Foundation Logo

The David Turnbull Lectureship recognizes the career contribution of a scientist to fundamental understanding of the science of materials through experimental and/or theoretical research. In the spirit of the life work of David Turnbull, writing and lecturing also can be factors in the selection process.

The recipient will give a technical lecture of broad appeal at a designated session of the MRS Fall Meeting, and he/she will work with the MRS Bulletin staff in preparing an appropriate article for the MRS Bulletin. In addition, the recipient will receive a travel allowance for speaking engagements throughout the year.

The nomination site is open March 1 – May 3.


The Turnbull Lecturer will receive a $5,000 honorarium and a citation plaque. The registration fee and reasonable travel expenses to the MRS meeting at which the Turnbull Lecture is given will be reimbursed. The David Turnbull Lectureship is intended to support and enrich the materials research community, while honoring the accomplishments of an outstanding researcher and communicator.

Nomination Information

Rules and eligibility, nomination package requirements and more are available here.


David Turnbull Lectureship Recipients

  • Sossina M. Haile, Northwestern University (2020)
  • Paula T. Hammond, Massachusetts Institute of Technology (2019)
  • M. Stanley Whittingham, Binghamton University (2018)
  • Sigurd Wagner, Princeton University (2017)
  • James De Yoreo, Pacific Northwest National Laboratory (2016)
  • Jacob Klein, Weizmann Institute of Science (2015)
  • Rodney S. Ruoff, Ulsan National Institute of Science & Technology (UNIST) (2014)
  • Robert O. Ritchie, University of California, Berkeley (2013)
  • Robert Sinclair, Stanford University (2012)
  • Phaedon Avouris, IBM T. J. Watson Research Center (2011)
  • David D. Awschalom, University of California, Santa Barbara (2010)
  • Edward J. Kramer, University of California, Santa Barbara (2009)
  • David N. Seidman, Northwestern University (2008)
  • Ramamoorthy Ramesh, University of California, Berkeley (2007)
  • Austen Angell, Arizona State University (2006)
  • Eugene E. Haller, University of California, Berkeley (2005)
  • Frank Bates, University of Minnesota (2004)
  • Ellen D. Williams, University of Maryland/MRSEC (2003)
  • Robert W. Cahn, University of Cambridge (2002)
  • James R. Chelikowsky, University of Minnesota (2001)
  • Anthony G. Evans, Princeton University (2000)
  • Joseph E. Greene, University of Illinois (1999)
  • H. Eugene Stanley, Boston University (1998)
  • Merton C. Flemings, Massachusetts Institute of Technology (1997)
  • Robert E. Newnham, The Pennsylvania State University (1996)
  • Didier R. de Fontaine, University of California, Berkeley (1995)
  • Arthur S. Nowick, Columbia University (1994)
  • Morris Cohen, Massachusetts Institute of Technology (1993)
  • Thomas R. Anthony, General Electric Company (1992)