Careers & Advancement

Outstanding Young Investigator Award

 Materials Research Society Foundation LogoThe Outstanding Young Investigator Award recognizes outstanding, interdisciplinary scientific work in materials research by a young scientist or engineer. The award recipient must show exceptional promise as a developing leader in the materials area.


Nominations are accepted July 1–August 1.

Award Package

The annual award consists of a $5,000 cash prize, a presentation trophy and a certificate. Meeting registration fee and reasonable travel expenses to attend the Materials Research Society meeting at which the award is presented will be reimbursed.

Nomination Information

Nominations for the Outstanding Young Investigator Award will be accepted through August 1. Rules and eligibility, nomination package requirements and more are available here.


Outstanding Young Investigator Award Recipients

  • Sheng Xu, University of California, San Diego (2019)
  • William Chueh, Stanford University (2018)
  • Vanessa Wood, ETH Zürich (2018)
  • Jennifer A. Dionne, Stanford University (2017)
  • James M. Rondinelli, Northwestern University (2017)
  • Dino Di Carlo, University of California, Los Angeles (2016)
  • Timothy J. White, Air Force Research Laboratory (2016)
  • Karena W. Chapman, Argonne National Laboratory (2015)
  • Ali Javey, University of California, Berkeley (2015)
  • Henry J. Snaith, Oxford University (2014)
  • Alexandra Boltasseva, Purdue University (2013)
  • Markus J. Buehler, Massachusetts Institute of Technology (2012)
  • Dmitri V. Talapin, University of Chicago (2011)
  • Mark C. Hersam, Northwestern University (2010)
  • Teri Odom, Northwestern University (2009)
  • Michael S. Strano, Massachusetts Institute of Technology (2008)
  • Michael D. McGehee, Stanford University (2007)
  • Ju Li, The Ohio State University (2006)
  • Harold Y. Hwang, University of Tokyo (2005)
  • Peidong Yang, University of California, Berkely (2004)
  • Timothy J. Deming, University of California, Santa Barbara (2003)
  • Kristi S. Anseth, University of Colorado (2001)
  • Frances M. Ross, IBM T.J. Watson Research Center (2000)
  • Chad A. Mirkin, Northwestern University (1999)
  • Anne M. Mayes, Massachusetts Institute of Technology (1998)
  • Christopher N. Bowman, University of Colorado (1997)
  • Antonios G. Mikos, Rice University (1996)
  • A. Paul Alivisatos, University of California, Berkeley (1995)
  • David J. Eaglesham, AT&T Bell Laboratories (1994)
  • Charles M. Lieber, Harvard University (1993)
  • David D. Awschalom, University of California, Santa Barbara (1992)
  • Stuart S. P. Parkin, IBM Almaden Research Center (1991)