2019 MRS Spring Meeting & Exhibit

Materials Science Research Aboard the International Space Station

Wednesday, April 24
2:00 pm – 2:30 pm
PCC North, 300 Level, Halls C–E—Exhibit Stage

The International Space Station (ISS) U.S. National Laboratory is an orbiting platform for research, technology development and education that inspires innovation and discovery, and is focused on enabling a new era of space research to improve life on Earth. The ISS National Laboratory promotes and brokers a diverse range of research in many scientific disciplines, including the field of materials, in the extreme environment of space.  The ISS National Laboratory enables flexible partnership models that allow organizations to leverage the unique attributes of the ISS that are most relevant to their mission. These include research competitions, investment opportunities, STEM education programs and commercial services opportunities. All types of organizations can now join in the business of space through these novel pathways made possible by the ISS National Laboratory.

ISS National Laboratory Logo


Randy GilesRandy Giles
International Space Station U.S. National Laboratory

C. Randy Giles, a world-renowned scientist, thought leader in optical technologies, an elected member of the U.S. National Academy of Engineering, joined the International Space Station (ISS) U.S. National Laboratory as Chief Scientist in October 2016. In this role, he leads the scientific research and technology development for the ISS National Laboratory. Giles spent the prior three decades at Bell Laboratories, where he has led global R&D teams with technologies ranging from medical diagnostics to quantum physics, microelectromechanical systems and advanced optical networking. He has made significant contributions to emerging technologies and holds more than 50 patents for his work.

Giles has been recognized by several prestigious institutions during his career. Notable awards include the Tyndall Award from The Optical Society in 2010, Laureate of the Millennium Technology Prize in 2008 and the Discover Award in 2000 for the invention of the MEMS-based optical cross-connect switch.