Meetings & Events


2019 MRS Fall Meeting

December 1-6, 2019
Boston, Massachusetts

Meeting Chairs

Bryan D. Huey
University of Connecticut

Bryan D. Huey is a professor and Head of the MS&E department at the University of Connecticut. In addition to co-organizing the 2019 MRS Fall Meeting, Bryan has co-chaired two MRS symposia, co-organized EMA and US-Japan conferences, and served as the chair of the Basic Science Division of the American Ceramic Society. He is an expert in the development and application of advanced variations of Atomic Force Microscopy. Using conventional, functional, high speed, and lately tomographic AFM, the HueyAFMLabs investigates piezoelectrics, multiferroics, photovoltaics, semiconductors, MEMS, biological cells and tissue, and pharmaceutical coatings. Bryan earned a BS degree from Stanford and MS and PhD degrees from the University of Pennsylvania, and worked as a postdoc at Oxford Materials and National Institute of Standards and Technology Ceramics before joining the University of Connecticut in 2004.

Stéphanie P. Lacour
École Polytechnique Fédérale de Lausanne

Stéphanie P. Lacour holds the Bertarelli Foundation Chair in Neuroprosthetic Technology at the School of Engineering at the Ecole Polytechnique Fédérale de Lausanne. She received her PhD degree in electrical engineering from INSA de Lyon, France, and completed postdoctoral research at Princeton University and the University of Cambridge. Since January 2017, she is full professor in Microengineering and Bioengineering at EPFL. She is a co-founding member and the current director of EPFL Center for Neuroprosthetics. Here lab challenges and seeks to advance our fundamental concepts in man-made electronic systems applied to biology. Her research uses fabrication methods borrowed from the MEMS and microelectronics industries and adapts them to soft substrates like elastomers.  She develops novel characterization tools adapted to mechanically compliant bioelectronic circuits.  Her team evaluates in vitro, in animal models and ultimately with humans the soft bioelectronic interfaces.

Conal E. Murray
IBM T.J. Watson Research Center

Conal E. Murray is a research staff member at the IBM T.J. Watson Research Center. He received a ScB degree in mechanics and materials science from Harvard University, an MS degree in mechanical engineering from Boston University and a PhD degree in materials science and engineering from Northwestern University. His work focuses on the micromechanics of semiconductor devices and the study of loss mechanisms in quantum computing. Murray is a fellow of the American Physical Society, has received received four IBM Research Division awards and an Outstanding Symposium Paper award at the 2009 MRS Spring Meeting. He has authored or co-authored over 100 scientific publications, three book chapters, and holds over 70 patents. Since 2012, he has served on the organizing committee of the Denver X-ray Conference and has chaired several symposia on diffraction and residual stress.

Jeffrey B. Neaton
University of California, Berkeley, and Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory

Jeffrey B. Neaton is a professor of physics at the University of California, Berkeley, where his research interests include developing applying theories and novel computational methods to predict, understand and control phase behavior and electronic phenomena in complex materials from first principles. He serves as the Associate Laboratory Director for Energy Sciences at Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory, overseeing the Chemical Sciences and Materials Sciences Divisions, as well as the lab’s two Basic Energy Sciences-sponsored national scientific User Facilities, the Advanced Light Source and the Molecular Foundry. Jeffrey is also a senior faculty scientist at Berkeley Lab and a member of the Kavli Energy NanoSciences Institute at Berkeley. He is the Associate Director of the Center for Computational Study of Excited-State Phenomena in Energy Materials at Berkeley Lab. He received his PhD degree in physics under Neil Ashcroft from Cornell University, and was a postdoctoral fellow at Rutgers University. After having worked as a postdoc and staff scientist at the Molecular Foundry, he became Director of the Molecular Foundry in 2013. Neaton is a recipient of a DOE Presidential Early Career Award for Scientists and Engineers award and is a fellow of the American Physical Society.

Iris Visoly-Fisher
Ben-Gurion University of the Negev

Iris Visoly-Fisher received her BSc and MSc degrees in materials engineering, and BA degree in physics (cum laude), from the Technion–Israel Institute of Technology. She completed her PhD degree in materials and interfaces at the Weizmann Institute of Science in 2004, studying single grain boundaries in polycrystalline CdTe solar cells. She then moved to Arizona State University as a postdoctoral fellow, where she studied electrochemical potential-dependent current transport in single biomolecules. In 2008, she joined Ben-Gurion University of the Negev as an assistant professor. She is an executive committee member of the Israel Vacuum Society, editorial board member in Scientific Reports, and MRS member since 2000. Her research interests include materials for solar energy conversion and storage, optoelectronics and surface science.