2018 MRS Fall Meeting Home

Symposium ET11—Emerging Materials and Device Concepts for Flexible, Low-Cost Photovoltaic Technologies

The pressing need for high-efficiency and low-cost photovoltaic technologies is currently the main challenge for almost all solar cell designs. Thin-film materials can be synthesized by a variety of methods, but a fundamental understanding, design and control of light absorption, charge separation, recombination and transport at the nanometer scale is key to engineer next-generation devices, including nano-enabled approaches. This symposium focuses on the recent development of well-established inorganic thin-film technologies, emerging materials for energy harvesting, as well as new device concepts for photovoltaics. We welcome submissions that cover both fundamental and applied research, including experimental and computational work. We anticipate this symposium to be a forum that will bring together experts in both theory and experiments, with the united goal of accelerating the development of novel PV materials and devices

Topics will include:

  • Inorganic thin film solar cells, including Si, III-Vs, polycrystalline materials, earth-abundant, ferroelectric and emerging 2D materials materials,
  • Nanostructure-based approaches and structures (quantum dots, quantum wells, nanowires, and nanoparticles)
  • Heterojunction solar cells: interface inversion, passivation, doping, and band offsets
  • Novel concepts for PV, including intermediate band, hot carrier, up- and down-conversion, and multiple exciton generation
  • Modeling and simulation of photovoltaic devices
  • Loss analysis & characterization in emerging solar cell materials
  • Tools to accelerate the discovery and development of novel PV materials

Invited Speakers:

  • Elisa Antolin (Universidad Politechnica, Spain, Spain)
  • Bob Birkmore (University of Delaware, USA)
  • Magnus Borgstrom (Lund University, Sweden)
  • Ned Ekins-Daukes (University of New South Wales, Australia)
  • Eric Garnett (AMOLF, Netherlands)
  • Jean-Francois Guillemoles (Chimie ParisTech, France)
  • Jeehwan Kim (Massachusetts Institute of Technology, USA)
  • Sarah Kurtz (University of California, Merced, USA)
  • Lincoln Lauhon (Northwestern University, USA)
  • Yun Lin (Australian National University, Australia)
  • Huiyun Liu (University College London, United Kingdom)
  • Antonio Luque (Technical University Madrid, Spain)
  • Aaron Ptak (National Renewable Energy Laboratory, USA)
  • Thomas Unold (Helmholtz-Zentrum Berlin, Germany)
  • Jia Zhu (Nanjing University, China)

Symposium Organizers

Rao Tatavarti
MicroLink Devices, Inc.

Lan Fu
Australian National University
Electronic Materials Engineering

Alexander Sprafke
Halle-Witttenburg University

Lin Zhou
Nanjing University
Engineering and Applied Sciences

Keywords for Abstract Submission

Flexible, Light management, Low cost, nanotechnology, Photovoltaics

Publishing Alliance

MRS publishes with Springer Nature


Corporate Partners