2018 MRS Fall Meeting Home

Symposium CM01—Solid-State Chemistry of Inorganic Materials

Solid-state chemistry is an interdisciplinary field, which draws from a diverse group of people interested in chemistry, condensed-matter physics, materials science and engineering, ceramics, metallurgy, chemical engineering and mineralogy/geology. Solid-state chemistry encompasses the synthesis of new materials, preparation of materials in new forms (nanocrystalline, heterostructures, porous materials, and composites), investigations of the relationships between composition, structure and properties, as well as the application of cutting edge characterization methods. The scope and importance of solid-state chemistry has grown not only with the discovery of new materials, but also through the advancement of techniques for preparing and studying them, and in advanced computational predictions for structures and properties.

Topics will include:

  • Novel Synthetic Methods
  • In-situ, Structural, and Properties Characterization
  • Theoretical Studies and Computational Modeling
  • Energy Conversion and Storage Materials
  • Functional Inorganic Materials
  • Inorganic NanoMaterials
  • Magnetic and Superconducting Materials

Invited Speakers:

  • Sarbajit Banerjee (Texas A&M University, USA)
  • Sabah Bux (NASA Jet Propulsion Lab, USA)
  • Kyoung-Shin Choi (University of Wisconsin-Madison, USA)
  • Simon Clarke (University of Oxford, United Kingdom)
  • Brandi Cossairt (University of Washington, USA)
  • William Dichtel (Northwestern University, USA)
  • Sian Dutton (University of Cambridge, United Kingdom)
  • Boniface Fokwa (University of California, Riverside, USA)
  • Daniel Fredrickson (University of Wisconsin-Madison, USA)
  • Amparo Fuertes (Institute of Materials Science of Barcelona, Spain)
  • Giulia Galli (University of Chicago, USA)
  • V. Ovidiu Garlea (Oak Ridge National Laboratory, USA)
  • Juri Grin (Max Planck Insitute of Chemical Physics of Solids, Germany)
  • Hideo Hosono (Tokyo Institute of Technology, Japan)
  • Hiroshi Kageyama (Kyoto University, Japan)
  • Susan Kauzlarich (University of California, Davis, USA)
  • Yury Kolen’ko (International Iberian Nanotechnology Lab, Portugal)
  • Maxim Kovalenko (ETH Zurich, Switzerland)
  • Graeme Luke (McMaster University, Canada)
  • Tyrel McQueen (John Hopkins University, USA)
  • Takao Mori (National Institute for Materials Science, Japan)
  • Anja Verena Mudring (University of Stockholm, Sweden)
  • Amy Prieto (Colorado State University, USA)
  • Ram Seshadri (University of California, Santa Barbara, USA)
  • Dmitri Talapin (University of Chicago, USA)
  • Javier Vela (Iowa State University, USA)
  • Chris Wolverton (Northwestern University, USA)

Symposium Organizers

Kirill Kovnir
Iowa State University of Science and Technology / Ames Laboratory
Department of Chemistry

Ashfia Huq
Oak Ridge National Laboratory
Neutron Scattering Division, Neutron Scattering Directorate

Antoine Maignan
Centre National de la Recherche Scientifique, CRISMAT Laboratory

Corey Thompson
Purdue University
Department of Chemistry

Keywords for Abstract Submission

advanced characterization, energy conversion, energy storage, magnetic materials, nanomaterials, solid state chemistry, synthesis

Publishing Alliance

MRS publishes with Springer Nature


Corporate Partners