Advocacy & Policy

Publishing Alliance

MRS publishes with Springer Nature


Corporate Partners

Current and Past MRS/OSA Fellows 

The Materials Research Society (MRS) and The Optical Society (OSA) are pleased to announce the selection of Catherine Clark as the 2020-2021 Congressional Science and Engineering Fellow.

OSA/MRS Congressional Fellow

Catherine Clark

Catherine Clark is currently finishing her Ph.D in Materials Science at the University of Minnesota. Her research is in the area of metal halide perovskite materials for optoelectronics, focusing on the development a solvent-free deposition method to enable the study of process-structure-property relationships in lead-free perovskite materials. Prior to graduate school, Clark worked at Siemens Energy as a mechanical engineer on wind turbines, gas turbines, and generators. She holds a BSE in Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering from Princeton University.

At the University of Minnesota, Clark has served on several graduate student councils that work to improve graduate student life by building community, raising awareness around issues facing graduate students, and implementing policies to improve relationships between students and faculty. She has also been involved in grassroots fundraising through Headwaters Foundation’s Giving Project, which supports the work of local BIPOC (black, indigenous, people of color) organizations.

I am thrilled to have this opportunity to experience policymaking firsthand,” Clark said. “I hope to apply my background in energy technologies towards effective, equitable, and science-based climate and energy policy.

Past MRS/OSA Congressional Science and Engineering Fellows

  • Daniel Broberg (2019-2020)
  • Dylan Rittman (2018-2019)
  • Sarah Vorpahl (2017-2018)
  • Felicia Lucci (2016-2017)
  • Peter Winter (2015-2016)
  • James O'Dea (2014-2015)
  • Sydney Kaufman (2013-2014)
  • Mirvat Abdelhaq (2012-2013)
  • Laura Povlich (2011-2012)
  • Ashley White (2010-2011)
  • Gavi Begtrup (2009-2010)
  • Amit Mistry (2008-2009)
  • Alicia Jackson (2007-2008)
  • Kevin Whittlesey (2006-2007)
  • Benjamin Jay Gross (2005-2006)
  • Karin Ezbiansky Pavese (2004-2005)
  • Colin McCormick (2003-2004)
  • Jeffrey H. Haeni (2002-2003)
  • Eric Werwa (2001-2002)
  • Susan Ginsberg (2000-2001)
  • Arun Seraphin (1999-2000)
  • Merrilea Mayo (1998-1999)
  • Brian Holloway (1997-1998)
  • Michal I. Freedhoff (1996-1997)
  • Kelly Kirkpatrick (1995-1996)