Symposium D: Energy-Critical Materials

Energy-Critical Materials

 Clean and traditional energy technologies alike have critical dependencies on specific materials.  Disruptions in the supply of these materials can impede or prevent the adoption of new technologies and ultimately threaten energy security. This symposium will focus on the emerging research directed toward energy-critical materials. Abstracts are solicited on topics across a broad range of issues from mineral extraction (geology, mineral characterization, direct reduction of ore to metal, chemical separations using computer-designed ligands, ranging from quantum mechanics to novel instrument development); substitution for materials with designed properties (optics, magnetism, fluorescence, strength); novel applications and uses for byproduct materials (magnetic refrigeration, magneto-thermo-mechanical energy conversion); recycling (separations, new chemistry and chemical engineering); and life-cycle analysis.

Abstracts are solicited in (but not necessarily limited to) the following areas:

  • Anticipating materials criticality–economics and information
  • Knowledge and skill management
  • Improving supply: rapid identification of new sources; mineral characterization; responsible extraction and processing; recycling
  • Reducing demand via materials substitution: fundamental understanding of materials properties; computational strategies for materials design; rapid experimental evaluations
  • Materials: rare earths; platinum group elements; lithium; cobalt; gallium; indium; tellurium; uranium
  • Applications: magnetic materials; battery and storage materials; photovoltaics, detectors, and phosphors; electrical conduction and transmission; catalysis

Invited Speakers Include:

Diana Bauer (U. S. DOE), John Burba (Molycorp), Brian Cantor (Univ. of York, United Kingdom), Steven Constantinides (Arnold Magnetic Technologies), David Eaglesham (First Solar, Inc.), Rod Eggert (Colorado School of Mines), Thomas Graedel (Yale Univ.), Karl Gschneidner (Ames Lab), George Hadjipanyas (Univ. of Delaware), Brent Hiskey (Univ. of Arizona), Robert Jaffe (Massachusetts Inst. of Technology), Ihor Kunasz (Consultant), Patrick Taylor (Colorado School of Mines), Brad Van Gossen (U. S. Geological Survey).

Symposium Organizers

Alex King
The Ames Laboratory
311 TASF, Ames, IA 50011-3020
Tel 515-294-2770 

John Poate
Colorado School of Mines
Guggenheim Hall, 1500 Illinois St., Golden, CO 80401
Tel 303-384-2375

Mary M. Poulton
The University of Arizona
Lowell Institute for Mineral Resources
P. O. Box 210012, Tucson, AZ 85721-0012
Tel 520-621-8391

Steven Duclos
GE Global Research
K1-MB123A, 1 Research Rd., Niskayuna, NY 12309
Tel 518-387-7632

AdAdAdAdAd Back To Top

Publishing Partner

Corporate Partners